Because I’m white

I don’t know, because I’m white.

I don’t know what it’s like to be oppressed, or to be pierced by judging eyes. 

I don’t know what it’s like to be degraded, and defined by racist slurs.

I don’t know what it’s like to feel fear. Not just any fear, but fear that the color of my skin will cost me my life.

I don’t know what it’s like to carefully, cautiously articulate every word I speak to those who wear blue.

I don’t know what it’s like to wonder, am I next?

I don’t know, because I’m white.

I do know silence means I chose the side of the oppressor, so I will not be silenced.

I do know the cycle must be broken.

I do know, because I’m human.

Leave a Reply

